New Jersey Lemon Law: 3 Things You Should Know
The first automobile was invented in 1886—a three-wheeled tricycle. Now, there are over 2 million cars on the road in New Jersey alone.
In an era of mass production, autos have become a standard purchase. Cars may come in different types, body styles, and dimensions, but each conforms to usability standards.
Unfortunately, like all mechanical objects, cars occasionally develop flaws – the dreaded “lemon.” Is the vehicle you just bought a lemon? Did you buy it within New Jersey?
Read on to learn a few things about the New Jersey lemon law.
What Is the New Jersey Lemon Law?
When you buy a new car, you expect it to be perfect. But what happens when you find out your new car is a lemon?
New Jersey’s lemon law is one of the strongest in the nation. It was created to protect consumers who purchase defective vehicles, commonly known as lemons. If you think you have a lemon, you must know your rights and take action quickly.
Three Things You Should Know about New Jersey Lemon Law
First, you must have purchased or leased the vehicle in New Jersey with severe defects. The lemon law does not cover used cars, bought “as is,” or problems caused by the buyer. If your vehicle has a small scratch on the paint, the lemon law will not apply.
Second, the problem with the vehicle must be covered by the manufacturer’s warranty. If your car does qualify as a lemon, you can get a refund or a replacement vehicle. If you opt for a replacement vehicle, the manufacturer must give you a vehicle of the same make and model as the lemon and of similar value.
And third, you only have a limited time to file a claim. You must notify the manufacturer in writing about the problem within 24 months of the date of purchase or lease or within 24,000 miles of use, whichever comes first.
You should contact an experienced Lemon Law attorney to discuss your rights if you think you may have a lemon. Under the New Jersey lemon law, legal representation should be free.
To know more about the New Jersey Law, visit lemonlaw.com.
Be Secured with the New Jersey Lemon Laws
If you’ve been a victim of a lemon, don’t worry—you have rights under the New Jersey lemon law.
To summarize, here are three things you should know. Your newly purchased car must be purchased in New Jersey and have severe defects. Your vehicle must have a warranty. And lastly, there is only a time frame where you can file for a complaint on your car to be replaced or refunded.
Being confident when purchasing cars is now made possible with the lemon law. Go on and get the vehicle of your dreams!
If you want to read more on legal advice, check out the articles on our blog.