A Quick Guide to Hit-and-Run Laws in South Carolina
Are you wondering about your legal rights if you’re the victim of a hit-and-run accident in South Carolina?
If a driver hits your vehicle and leaves the scene, or you hit someone or something and leave the scene, there are certain legal requirements that you must abide by. Ignoring these can result in criminal, civil, or administrative penalties.
You should learn about hit-and-run laws in South Carolina to make sure you handle the situation correctly. Keep reading to learn more.
What Is a Hit and Run?
In the U.S., a hit-and-run is when you leave the scene of an accident without providing adequate information to the other party involved or the authorities. This is considered a felony in many states, and the penalties can be quite severe.
Depending on the state, a hit-and-run may be punishable by prison time, a fine, or both. In some states, a hit-and-run is also considered a crime if the driver fails to render aid to any injured parties.
Injury or Death
If you hit someone with your car and cause injury or death, you could be charged with a felony hit-and-run offense in South Carolina. If convicted, you could face up to 25 years in prison and a fine of $25,000.
If you leave the scene of an accident that you are involved in, you could be charged with a misdemeanor hit-and-run offense. If convicted, you could face up to 30 days in jail and a fine of $500.
The penalties for this crime are a fine of up to $5,000 and/or imprisonment for up to 5 years. If you are involved in an accident, you should stop your vehicle as soon as it is safe to do so and exchange information with the other driver.
If you’re committing a hit-and-run accident that results in only minor damage in South Carolina, you may be facing a misdemeanor charge. leaving the scene of an accident that results in only minor damage is a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine.
If you’re convicted of a hit-and-run with only minor damage, you may also have your driver’s license suspended for up to six months.
If you want to learn more details about South Carolina hit-and-run laws, you may have to do your research and learn more about how to get help from an expert lawyer.
The Importance of Being Up-to-Date on Your State’s Hit-and-run Laws
These laws vary from state to state, so it is important to know what the requirements are in your state. If you are involved in a hit-and-run accident, there can be serious consequences. In some states, you may be facing jail time if you leave the scene of an accident.
In other states, you may only be fined. Regardless of the consequences, it is always best to stop and exchange information with the other driver after an accident. Abiding by the hit-and-run laws in South Carolina is extremely important.
If you want to explore more interesting reads, check out the rest of our blog.